What Happens When A Claim Is Denied?

The majority of people who apply for Social Security benefits are denied. This is not the end of the process. In fact, at the Law Offices of Stuart Barasch, we see it as the beginning. Our lawyers have decades of experience guiding people through the various levels of Social Security Disability appeals. Working out of offices in Miami Beach, Florida, and Los Angeles, California, we help people nationwide.

The First Appeal: Reconsideration

After an initial denial, the first appeal is reconsideration. Like the application, this is a paperwork-driven process. We make certain that the Social Security Administration has everything they need and we ask them to look at your application again.

The Second Appeal: Administrative Law Hearing

If an application is denied on reconsideration, the next stop is an administrative law hearing. We carefully prepare for this hearing in order to make it clear to the administrative law judge why a person should receive Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits.

The Third Appeal: Appeals Council

If benefits are denied by the administrative law judge, the next step is taking the matter to the Appeals Council. This step is paperwork-driven. Our experience allows us to craft appeals that make it clear to the counsel why our clients' benefits should be approved.

The Fourth Appeal: Federal District Court Appeals

Our law firm has the experience to handle appeals at the federal district court level. These cases are rare, but extremely challenging. Our reputation for success has led to many of these appellate cases being referred to us by other lawyers.

We know this can be a complicated process, so we invite you to contact us about your case. Call our firm today to schedule your no-risk complimentary consultation today. We can be reached toll free at 888-309-0529 or at 786-245-6190, or you can email us via our online contact form.